• Everyone can read this forum. To post on this forum, you must be a Community or VIP member. You can register here. If you are a member, to login use your email address for the username and the same password you use for the main site. If you have problems logging in to the forum, please email support@holisticactions.com.

Is Homeopathic Treatment of Pets Scientific and Effective (and safe)?

Dr. Jeff

Administrator
Veterinarian
This is from a few years ago but is still relevant today:

I’ve recently received a few questions about the use of homeopathic medicine for pets. Some wonder why any scientifically trained veterinary doctor would use homeopathic remedies. Some pet owners think that homeopathic medicines can not have any effect beyond that of placebo.

I’ve been caring for animals for thirty years. My scientific career began as a molecular biologist. Pretty scientific stuff. One of the first “rules” that budding scientists learn is that inquiry and open-mindedness is essential. Avoid DOGma. This is how science progresses. Modern science is just beginning to quantitate the molecular basis of homeopathic medicine. Unfortunately, some pet owners and veterinarians still think that this exquisitely effective medicine can not possibly work because they can not understand it.

I welcome questions about the use of homeopathy in scientific veterinary medicine medicine. This gives me a chance to point everyone to the current homeopathy research and clinical findings.

Veterinary and human doctors have known for hundreds of years that low (and even submolecular) doses of medicine can be used successfully to treat the sick. This is similar to how holistic docs have known for a long time that vaccines can do as much harm as good.