• Everyone can read this forum. To post on this forum, you must be a Community or VIP member. You can register here. If you are a member, to login use your email address for the username and the same password you use for the main site. If you have problems logging in to the forum, please email support@holisticactions.com.

Help For My Cat Who Has a Diagnosis of Feline Interstitial Cystitis (aka FUS and FLUTD)

PaulineW

VIP Member
Registered
Good morning, I'm new to HA and I am hoping to find some assistance for my five-year-old cat. He was diagnosed about a year-and-a-half ago with FIC.
My first concern is that based on some of the readings I've done, he doesn't have most of the symptoms affiliated with FIC.
After the numerous urinating and defeating on beds and furniture , I added litter boxes, used unscented litter, etc. I then took him to the vet and found out that he was dehydrated and constipated. We right away changed to an all wet canned diet and added water to his food. He was prescribed wet can food C/D Hills prescription diet. Urine tests were done, no blood, no crystals. I believe our vet has said that he may have an inflamed lining of the bladder.
He was an indoor cat, and is now an outdoor cat to help with reducing accidents in the home. We are about to do a second round of laser therapy for him. The first round was maybe six months ago.
He no longer wants to eat the prescribed food.

His symptoms from the starts included twitching of the skin, looking bothered or upset , running away when he defecates. He does not seem to strain at all while urinating. At first he would not cover his urine when using outside. He now does it. He's always hungry. He catches squirrels and other Critters, and eats them. He just started again going in the house and I saw the writing on the wall based on this Behavior. He was staying inside the house when he could be playing outside. And he looks for me to sleep on me a whole bunch more when I guess he's not feeling well.