• Everyone can read this forum. To post on this forum, you must be a Community or VIP member. You can register here. If you are a member, to login use your email address for the username and the same password you use for the main site. If you have problems logging in to the forum, please email support@holisticactions.com.

Dog itchy skin, nutrition, getting started!

CareyW

All-Access Member
Registered
Hello, I’m new to holistic pet care and looking for support and wisdom. As others have probably experienced, I’m feeling quite overwhelmed with all the new information and also wishing I would have embraced this form of care much sooner - but here I am now and have a heart for learning healthier ways! We have a well loved 4yr old German Shepherd female named Daisy. She is neutered and weighs approx 65lbs. She is generally happy, energetic and gentle with our family although she seems to be more irritable since increased itch discomfort and less consistent appetite(even dumped her food bowl on the ground a couple of times this past week). She had all vaccinations up to a little over a year ago except never for kennel cough. She has been consistently on HeartGuard and NexGuard per the vet recommendation. She is currently struggling with black itchy skin on her belly with bright red spots(pictured below but hard to get a clear image), itchy/black/raw areas on her front elbows (pictured below) and sometimes licks/bites her foot. We have treated itchy/raw areas topically with Briotech pet spray and this seems to sooth and heal a bit. We have not been to a vet because we have not found a holistic option near us.